Image_MOTM-Section_Oct2018_Email#2.png

Meet Our October 2018 - Mom of the Month

Introducing Laura, our October Mom of the Month! Laura moved to Glen Ellyn from Chicago with her family in February of 2018. She found us through her neighbor, Amanda, who is a Stroller Barre instructor. She has a 3 ½ year old daughter, Macy, and a 9 month old son, Parker. Laura loves attending Stroller Barre - so much so that she became a Playgroup Captain. She also is currently completing her first Body Back session and feeling strong. We are so glad she found Our Village. Congratulations, Laura!

  • Hometown: I started my life in Palatine, Illinois for 6 years, moved to St. Joseph, Missouri for 3 years with my dad’s company, then moved to Frankfort, Illinois in 5th grade!
  • Tell us about who is in your family: Rick (Husband), Macy (3.5), Parker (9 months), Charlotte (10 year old Beagle Sheltie I adopted in grad school) -I am the oldest of three kids (one sister and one brother-my best friends still to this day). My parents still live in Frankfort, so we love being closer to them now that we’re in the suburbs!
  • Current Career: Stay at Home Mom, Kids Taxi Service, Cook, House Cleaner, Personal Shopper, Husband’s Life Manager 🤣, the list goes on...
  • Previous/Future Career: Pediatric Occupational Therapist- I worked in outpatient pediatrics for 3 years and in the schools for 5 years! I specialized in Sensory Integration Therapy in the peds clinic but also worked with kids on Fine and Visual Motor Skills, Gross Motor Skills, Motor Planning, Neurodevelopmental Treatment, and Self-Care Skills. I worked with multiple self-contained classrooms in the school specializing with kids with Down Syndrome, Autism, Intellectual Delays, etc. I helped teach them various skills and adaptations to perform to their best ability in the school environment. I finished my last contract when Parker was born back in December and will probably start picking up part time work when the kids are in full day school!
  • What was your childhood ambition? My childhood dream was to be either a teacher or a nurse, so being a pediatric occupational therapist kind of filled both of those as I can work in the medical field or schools!
  • What does motherhood mean to you? What is it not? Motherhood is everything to me. I would say I was a happy person before kids, but having kids has completed me. I never knew I could love two little souls so much! I look at them everyday and think to myself, how did I get so lucky? Is it easy? No, but it is so worth all the hard work that goes into motherhood!
  • What is the farthest you’ve been away from home? Barcelona, Spain 🇪🇸 I studied abroad for 6 weeks the summer after my sophomore year in college. It was like being in a movie, since I had only seen Europe in the movies! I learned a ton and enjoyed my first time living in a big city. Being submerged in the culture by staying with a host family really helped with my Spanish, which I used a lot working in the schools, where most of my families spoke only Spanish.
  • How did you find FIT4MOM? I actually did a few classes with a good friend from Lisle before I moved to the suburbs, so when my neighbor (Amanda) mentioned she was an instructor, I decided to try it out again! I got lucky that Mother’s Day was right around the corner making it an easy gift for my husband to give me!
  • How has FIT4MOM changed your life? FIT4MOM has changed my life in many ways! It’s so intimidating to drop the kids off at the gym to workout, so this is an awesome way to be with the kids, engage them in songs, and workout all at once! I also love the sense of community it brings to me and my kids! The playgroup is a great way for them to socialize and make friends after the workout too! It has kept me consistent with working out, which has not been a strong point for me in the past! It’s nice to take the time to strengthen myself but also still be a mom at the same time!
  • Favorite exercise: Stroller Barre! I have always had poor posture and issues with my upper neck and back. Since I’ve been consistent with Stroller Barre, I really have not had any of those issues as my core and upper body are so much stronger!
  • Proudest moment: When my daughter told me I was her best friend!! Let’s see how many years that lasts!
  • Tell us something about yourself that would surprise us: I love cranking the music (country, pop, oldies, you name it!) and having dance parties in the kitchen with my kids, husband, and even the dog!